Eat. Exercise. Live.

You are a perishable item. Live accordingly.

No Carbs for You!!

1 Comment

A couple of weeks ago I was talking with a client about her weight loss journey. She told me that she didn’t think she could lose anymore weight than she had already and she was okay with that. This made me think for many days. I had a few thoughts. 1. I always want people to find a way to be happy and content with who they are. Life for all is so much better if we aren’t constantly judging ourselves and how we look. 2. I do want people to continuously strive to be better. I know it sounds like a contradiction to number 1 but it’s not. Each day I want to be a better me than I was yesterday – I want to be nicer, smarter, more productive, healthier, stronger but that doesn’t me I don’t love the me I am today. 3. I knew she was capable of so much more. 

So last week just before my client was to leave on a cruise, I told her, when you get back we are giving up carbs for a month. After big eyes and much questioning she agreed to it. I’m happy to say she started yesterday and I started today. You should join us.

What does it mean to give up “carbs”? Are you just going to eat meat all day?

No we aren’t going to eat meat all day but meat will definitely be involved. Giving up carbs in this sense just means to limit them severely. Trying to stay under 20 grams of carbs a day and getting carbs mostly through vegetables. The things we are giving up are breads, cereals, rice, potatoes, pastas. Think grainy foods. We are also limiting our sugar through sweets. No candy, sodas, sugary drinks. We will also limit our fruit. Fruit is good for you but also can be high in sugar. When I’m going carb free I tend to limit my fruit a handful of blueberries with some almonds as a snack. We will eat lots of lean meats and protein. Protein is essential in turning fat into muscle. We will eat chicken, turkey, fish, some red meat, nuts, eggs, cheese. We will also include lots and lots of of vegetables.  We also will eat plenty of good fats – avocados, olives, almond butter. There are plenty of places to find meal plans to do a no-low carb eating plan just by using the magic of Google. 

 

What are the benefits of going no-low carb?

Carbs and sugar, in general store right in your belly. Usually I can tell when my clients have been going a little hard on the sweets or the breads because I can see it right in their belly. By giving up the carbs for one month, you’ll notice a difference in your mid-section. If you don’t believe me, take a picture of yourself the day you start and the day you finish, you’ll notice a difference. By pairing this eating plan with exercise, you’ll notice some weight loss too! 

Additionally, you’ll feel better. At first it will be hard and an adjustment because our bodies get addicted to carbs and sugar and we crave them but after a week or so you won’t need them and you’ll feel really good. Check out this article to hear how a regular Joe feels when gives up carbs. http://www.tropicalmba.com/what-i-learned-by-quitting-carbs/

A question I often ask people is “if you can’t give up something that is holding you back then what does that say about your addiction to that thing?” I’m not saying you have to give up carbs and sweets forever. I’m saying, do it for a month. I think what you’ll find is that you feel better and you don’t really need to add those things back to the extent you were having them before you started. 

Maybe after a month you’ll find a way to just add some of them back. Or perhaps you’ll just add them once a week. Chris and Heidi Powell practice carb cycling with their clients and maybe that is more your pace. 

If you are looking for something new to help you lose a few pounds or if you are looking for a new way to challenge yourself, this could be for you. If you decide to join us, please let me know. I’d be happy to check in with you and help hold you accountable and you can do the same for me.

 

One thought on “No Carbs for You!!

  1. ok…i’m in. cutting out most of my carbs for a month!!! great article and great encouragement! we can do anything for a month!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.